Regina: (306) 757-3197 | Saskatoon: (306) 343-2023 | Toll Free: 1-855-280-7115

The Saskatchewan Safety Council was formed after a national safety convention was held in Ottawa in 1955. The major focus of the conference was to establish provincial safety councils across Canada to help curb the growing number of injuries and fatalities.

On November 15, 1955 in Regina, C.M. Fines, the Minister Responsible for the Highway Traffic Board and S.G.I.O. laid the groundwork for the new organization, the Saskatchewan Highway Safety Council. The Council's first office opened at 1721 Scarth Street in Regina and the organization was lead by new president and general manager, Leonard Bowman.

From the start the Council was involved in many issues and helped to mold public opinion on many traffic issues including mandatory seatbelt use, acceptance of breathalyzer evidence in court and driver education in all high schools.

By 1962, it became clear that other safety areas needed to be addressed. The all inclusive Saskatchewan Safety Council was officially launched on June1, 1963 and two new divisions were formed, the Farm division and the Public division (now known as the Home and Community division).

In 1970 the Council's Occupation division was started and the Industrial Safety Seminar was organized in 1973 to address the need for occupational safety training and upgrading in the province.

Today the Saskatchewan Safety Council is a central voice whenever safety education and public awareness is concerned. The Council continues to operate as a non-profit, charitable organization offering a variety of comprehensive safety education programs and public awareness events for the people of Saskatchewan.


  • Twitter
  • Facebook